11th IEEE International Conference on
Advanced Video and Signal-Based Surveillance
August 26-29, 2014 HanaSquare, Korea University, Seoul, Korea
Call for Workshops
Keynote Lectures
Travel and Visas
Social Program
Venue and City
Presenter Instructions
Paper Submission
Call for Papers
Important dates
Workshop proposals : Feb 25, 2014
Paper submission :
Mar 1, 2014 → Mar 31, 2014
Paper acceptance :
Mar 30, 2014 → June 4, 2014
Camera ready : June 22, 2014
Early registration :June 22, 2014
Conference : Aug 26-29
Travel and Visas   HOME  |  AVSS2014  | Travel and Visas
Local Information
Korea Standard Time (KST) is the standard time zone in Korea and is 9 hours ahead of UTC, i.e., UTC/GMT +9 hours. Korea Standard Time is the same as Japan Standard Time, Indonesian Eastern Standard Time and Irkutsk Time.
Conference period belongs to late summer in Korea. Occasional rainfall during the summer time is characterized by heavy showers. Daily precipitation often exceeds 200mm (8 inches), with extremes topping 300mm (12 inches). The mean temperature for Seoul in August is 25.7 °C (78 °F)
10 won 50 won 100 won 500 won
1,000 won 5,000 won 10,000 won 50,000 won
  Banks in most high streets offer foreign exchange services (look for a ‘Foreign Exchange’ or currency sign). US dollars are the easiest to exchange but any major currency(Japn JPY, China CNY, EU EUR) is accepted.
  * Currency rate(2014.07.16)
Korea WON
KRW 1000
USD 0.97
JPY 98.52
CNY 6.02
EUR 0.71
INR 58.31
  Credit cards are not always accepted outside major cities. ATMs are widely available but may not always accept foreign cards.
The electricity standard in Korea is 220 Volts AC, 60Hz with Type C & F plug and socket.
The international access code for Korea is +82. To dial an international number from Korea you need to precede your country number with 001, 002, or 00700.

Conference participants who are not Korean
(or those who satisfy conditions for visa-free entry:
refer to the website
(LINK: http://www.hikorea.go.kr/pt/InfoDetailR_en.pt?categoryId=2&parentId=385&catSeq=401&showMenuId=375) or
Countries under VISA Waiver Agreement
(LINK : http://www.hikorea.go.kr/pt/en/info/popup/icis/VisaWaiver_pop.htm)) need a Korea visa to enter Korea.
Most foreigners who want to visit Korea just for a short-term tour or transit are allowed to enter Korea without visa according to the principles of reciprocity or priority of national interest with a tourist/transit visa status (B-2, for 30 days).
However, participants who might want assistance for a Temporary visit (C-3) visa need the invitation letter issued by the AVSS2014 Secretariat. IEEE has strict guidelines regarding invitation letters for visa purposes. Such letters will only be issued to prospective attendees who have completed the registration process (including the payment). For more information, please contact via email, avss2014@ispl.korea.ac.kr
Donors and Sponsors
International Conference on Advanced Video and Signal-Based Surveillance.
Copyright ⓒ AVSS 2014. All rights reserved.